Egypt matches Nigerian win, goes top of group ahead of Uganda

first_imgThe teams are in Group B — labelled the ‘group of death’ as it contains three 2014 World Cup qualifiers in Algeria, Cameroon and Nigeria.Algeria host record seven-time African qualifiers Cameroon later on Sunday in Blida, a venue where the North African Desert Foxes are virtually invincible.Iwobi of Arsenal pounced on a weak headed clearance to slam the ball past goalkeeper Kennedy Mweene from close range on 32 minutes.Neat one-touch passing set Iheanacho of Manchester City free 10 minutes later and he rounded Mweene before calmly pushing the ball into the net.A blunder from Nigeria defender Kenneth Omeruo allowed Mbesuma to score by firing past impressive goalkeeper Carl Ikeme from inside the penalty area.Just a few hours after the Nigerians became the first away winners in the African group phase, Egypt matched the achievement by defeating Congo 2-1 in Brazzaville.Ferebory Dore beat 43-year-old goalkeeper Essam El Hadary with a far-post header to give the hosts a first half lead.Mohamed Salah from Italian Serie A outfit Roma headed the equaliser just before half-time, then set up the winner for Abdallah Saied close to the hour mark.Egypt, whose last of two World Cup appearances was 26 years ago, top Group E with three points, Ghana and Uganda have one each and Congo none.Share on: WhatsApp Pages: 1 2 Egyptians celebrate and below, action in the Ghana versus Uganda game ResultsGhana 0 Uganda 0Congo 1 Egypt 2Johannesburg, South Africa | AFP | Nigeria opened their 2018 World Cup group-phase qualifying campaign with a 2-1 victory in Zambia on Sunday thanks to goals from English Premier League duo Alex Iwobi and Kelechi IheanachoThe 20-year-old strikers scored in the opening half before a capacity 40,000 crowd at Levy Mwanawasa Stadium in central city Ndola that included President Edgar Lungu.Zambia dominated the second half and veteran striker Collins Mbesuma set up a tense finish by halving the deficit 19 minutes from time.But an equaliser eluded the Chipolopolo (Copper Bullets), who are seeking a first World Cup appearance while the Super Eagles have already been to the finals five times.last_img read more

WDFW Tentatively Schedules Razor Clam Digs Through December 31

first_imgNov. 20, 2014, Thursday; 5:06 p.m., 0.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsNov. 21, 2014, Friday; 5:45 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, MocrocksNov. 22, 2014, Saturday; 6:24 p.m., -0.8 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, CopalisNov. 23, 2014, Sunday; 7:05 p.m., -1.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, MocrocksNov. 24, 2014, Monday; 7:47 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsNov. 25, 2014, Tuesday; 8:32 p.m., -0.9 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsNov. 26, 2014, Wednesday; 9:19 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors Nov. 4, 2014, Tuesday; 4:26 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsNov. 5, 2014, Wednesday; 5:14 p.m., -0.7 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsNov. 6, 2014, Thursday; 5:59 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsNov. 7, 2014, Friday; 6:42 p.m., -1.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, MocrocksNov. 8, 2014, Saturday; 7:24 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, CopalisNov. 9, 2014, Sunday; 8:05 p.m., -0.7 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, MocrocksNov. 10, 2014, Monday; 8:47 p.m., -0.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsNov. 11, 2014, Tuesday; 9:31 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors Facebook202Tweet0Pin0 Submitted by Washington Department of Fish and WildlifeThe first razor clam dig of the season is tentatively scheduled next month with additional digs planned through New Year’s Eve.In announcing the initial digging schedule, state fishery managers emphasized that final approval of all scheduled openings will depend on results of marine toxin tests that show the clams are safe to eat.“We’re announcing this proposed schedule to give people time to makes plans,” said Dan Ayres, coastal shellfish manager for the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW). “However, none of the digs are confirmed until we announce the results of the toxin tests.”During the first set of digs, scheduled October 7 through October 12, both Twin Harbors and Long Beach will be open all six days, with additional harvest opportunities at Mocrocks and Copalis. Through the end of the year, WDFW has tentatively scheduled a total of 41 days of razor clam digs.Beach surveys indicate an average razor clam population at Copalis this year while Twin Harbors, Long Beach and Mocrocks show excellent numbers of clams, Ayres said.“Overall, there are a lot of clams out there and we expect this to be another great season,” he said.Under state law, diggers can take 15 razor clams per day and are required to keep the first 15 they dig. Each digger’s clams must be kept in a separate container. Diggers may not harvest any part of another person’s daily limit, unless they possess a designated harvester card.Razor clam diggers age 15 or older must have an applicable 2014-15 fishing license to harvest razor clams on state beaches. Fishing licenses of various kinds are available on the department’s website at https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov and from license vendors around the state. A new WDFW video, which demonstrates how to teach your kids to harvest razor clams, is available at youtube.com/thewdfw.WDFW recently sought public comments on the upcoming razor clam season.  Ayres said he appreciates that so many people sent in comments.“We have done our best to incorporate as many of those suggestions as possible in the months ahead,” Ayres said.Below is the schedule of proposed razor clam digs, along with evening low tides and beaches:Oct. 7, 2014, Tuesday; 6:26 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsOct. 8, 2014, Wednesday; 7:13 p.m., -0.9 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsOct. 9, 2014, Thursday; 7:58 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsOct. 10, 2014, Friday; 8:43 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, MocrocksOct. 11, 2014, Saturday; 9:28 pm, -0.8 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, CopalisOct. 12, 2014, Sunday; 10:15 p.m., -0.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks Dec. 19, 2014, Friday; 4:41 p.m., 0.0.feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, MocrocksDec. 20, 2014, Saturday, 5:23 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, CopalisDec. 21, 2014, Sunday, 6:06 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, MocrocksDec. 22, 2014, Monday, 6:48 p.m., -1.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsDec. 23, 2014, Tuesday, 7:31 p.m., -1.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors Dec. 3, 2014, Wednesday; 4:14 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsDec. 4, 2014, Thursday; 5:02 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsDec. 5, 2014, Friday; 5:45 p.m., -0.9 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, MocrocksDec. 6, 2014, Saturday; 6:26 p.m., -1.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, CopalisDec. 7, 2014, Sunday; 7:05 p.m., -0.9 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, MocrocksDec. 8, 2014, Monday; 7:44 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsDec. 9, 2014, Tuesday; 8:21 pm, -0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors Oct. 22, 2014, Wednesday; 6:31 p.m., 0.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsOct. 23, 2014, Thursday; 7:07 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsOct. 24, 2014, Friday; 7:44 p.m., -0.4 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, MocrocksOct. 25, 2014, Saturday; 8:22 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, CopalisOct. 26, 2014, Sunday; 9:03 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, MocrocksOct. 27, 2014, Monday; 9:47 p.m., -0.4 feet, Long Beach, Twin HarborsOct. 28, 2014, Tuesday; 10:36 p.m., -0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors Dec. 31, 2014, Wednesday, 3:05 p.m., 0.6 feet,  Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis For more information on razor clam digging, visit the WDFW website at http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/shellfish/razorclams/current.html.last_img read more